If good lawyering skills are essentials for an advocate, then mooting during law school is the greatest asset that a student can inculcate. Here, at Symbiosis Law School, Pune, we understand this need to encourage mooting and aspire to create such a healthy pool of young lawyers. The Moot Court Association (MCA) is the institution's student committee entrusted with fostering, administering and facilitating mooting activities and upholding the benchmark of excellence that Symbiosis Law School, Pune has set for itself.

MCA serves to develop future mooters, as well as an interest in mooting. In pursuance of this, the MCA follows a policy of encouraging participation in mooting from all batches, including the first years. To allow them to compete on an equal footing, the MCA organizes extensive workshops and demonstrations to enable them to learn the process of mooting from the very basics to the most intricate details. Further, the MCA arranges for interactive sessions with experienced mooters and litigators from previous batches to guide the present mooters better. The MCA also organizes a 'Central Moot Elimination' during the year to encourage people to take up mooting, and the 'Novice Moot Elimination', which pits senior batches against the junior batches and subsequently represent the college in numerous moot court, mock trials, judgment writing, client counseling and negotiation competitions.

Students who represent the college in the national and international mooting circuit are trained and assisted by not only the MCA members, but also by experts in the various fields of law. Workshops are conducted regularly to hone the oratory and presentation skills of the students. Memorials are reviewed and mock pleadings are conducted by both faculty and senior mooters to ensure that every team that represents the college has been given optimum training.

The institution along with the MCA has taken huge strides in providing impetus for the development of the two editions of National Moot Court Competitions i.e. Symbiosis - B. Krishna Memorial National IPR Moot Court Competition and The Surana & Surana International Technology Law Moot Court Competition.

The zeal which the students have towards mooting and the support offered by our faculty is reflected in our results. In the past, our students have represented and won laurels in prestigious competitions such as the The Annual Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot, Leiden Sarin 6th Air Law Moot Court Competition, KLA Client Counseling Competition, D.M Harish Memorial International Moot Court Competition, Nani Palkhivala National Tax Moot Court Competition, NLIU Juris Corp National Corporate Law Moot Court Competition etc.

Members, 2015-2016

The structure of the MCA is as follows:

Faculty-In-charge MCA: Dr. Atmaram Shelke and Prof. Shirish Kulkarni


Sr. No Name Specification
1. Vadeendra Joshi


IV Year

2. Priyanka Arora


IV Year

3. Aneesh Sadhwani III Year
4. Gauri Tyagi III Year
5. Kartik Arora III Year
6. Ridhish Rajvanshi III Year
7. Sneha Priya Yanappa III Year
8. Varuna Agrawal III Year
9. Emil Sunil George II Year
10. Nishitaa Kaushik II Year
11. Palak Nema II Year (III Year LLB)
12. Parth Dixit II Year
13. Shreya Chaturvedi II Year
14. Steffi Mary Punnose II Year
15. Sumedha Sen II Year